Learning to snowboard

Where you live can have a big impact on the kind of activities that you can do to stay active. Having been born on an island, I always had access to water sports and all kinds of beach related activities. However, there was something that I always wanted to try out: snowboarding.

I had some experience skiing during various travel trips, but it wasn’t until the winter of 2009 that I had my first snowboarding lesson in Taos, NM. I have to say, I wasn’t very good at it. I had good balance but I wasn’t mastering the turns.  In snowboarding you must master the basic turns (heelside, toeside) independently before linking the turns in order to go down a slope. I fell so many times that I ended up with a bruised tailbone (ouch!).

I was determined to improve, so I made a commitment to take lessons every year. During the next two years I traveled to Colorado during the winter to take snowboarding lessons. My perseverance paid off. Although I am not a pro, I now have the necessary skills to enjoy a whole day of snowboarding without falling repeatedly. Snowboarding provides a great cardiovascular workout as well as strenghtening your major muscles. Balance and coordination are also a very important part of the sport.

I would recommend everyone to give it a try, and be consistent with your practice. For me, hiring a private instructor made a big difference in my technique. So if you would like to try a new sport to stay active during the winter, snowboarding is a great alternative.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Active and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

